Technical translations - Just starting
Thread poster: Hildegard Klein-Bodenheimer

Hildegard Klein-Bodenheimer  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:35
English to German
+ ...
Feb 14, 2006

Maybe someone can help me.
I am an adjunct German teacher at two different colleges, and part time I did a few translations over the last 5 years. A few weeks ago, I got the offer to apply as a freelance translation vendor for a larger company. I passed their test translation (instructions for a new software program) and they actually want to work with me. They need mostly translations of computer and technical texts, things that I hadn`t done before. They want me to use TRADOS, of course buying it myself. They couldn`t give me any price range, and couldn`t give me any information about the frequency of business with them. In the end, I got this vague info: You will give us a price (per word) and we will accept it or not. Me: How should I know the common price? Answer: I can only tell you it is somewhere between 7 - 12 cents/new word and of course TRADOS words are much less. This is what is done in the industry.
Here is where I need some help: Is this actually a correct price for "the industry"? Can I negotiate anything? She mentioned that new people in the job of course get the lower payment, but I know that they are really desperate for German translators. In my jobs so far, I charged 20cents/word and always got that. Was I just lucky? A few years ago I did some proofreading for a large company and they payed $20/hour. I should almost go back to that. The next question: For somebody who is used to Microsoft office and Word and not much more, how long does it take to get into "the TRADOS world"? I don`t have to make any decisions before March 10, but somehow I have the feeling it might be too big? Or is it just new and looks bigger as it is??