Subtitling Fees
Thread poster: Lilyth
Lilyth
Italy
Local time: 23:42
English to Italian
Feb 21, 2006

Hi everybody,
I've sent this message in the Italian forum but had no answer, so I hope some of you international collegues can help.
I've been offered a translation job to subtitle a 44 min-tv series, where they offer a mere $3.50 p/spoken minute.
I've made a couple of calculations and that turns out to be roughly 0.2 cents per word! And that's not even Eurocents!
Is this normal? I don't think I have ever worked at these rates even when I was a student!
Can anybody help?

Direct link Reply with quote

Angela Arnone  Identity Verified
Member (2004)
Italian to English
+ ...
Can any kind person reply to Lilyth in private? Feb 21, 2006

As usual, it is preferrable to avoid discussing actual rates in publicly for the reasons I have already described.
Thanks in advance
Angela

Lilyth wrote:

Hi everybody,
I've sent this message in the Italian forum but had no answer, so I hope some of you international collegues can help.
I've been offered a translation job to subtitle a 44 min-tv series, where they offer a mere $3.50 p/spoken minute.
I've made a couple of calculations and that turns out to be roughly 0.2 cents per word! And that's not even Eurocents!
Is this normal? I don't think I have ever worked at these rates even when I was a student!
Can anybody help?

Manuela Brehm
Local time: 22:42
German to Portuguese
+ ...
... Feb 21, 2006

Lilyth wrote:

Hi everybody,
Can anybody help?

Hi,
unfortunately translation for subtitling is terrible underpaid and 3.50 is quite a good offer.
Rgds
Manuela

Sandrinha  Identity Verified

French to Portuguese
+ ...
Hi Feb 21, 2006

I'm not a english translater but I have a little experience in subtitles translation. What I can say is the agency use to pay by 15mn and not by 1mn. Regarding the price the agency wich who I use to work paid me, it's a good price but I also live in Portugal, and the prices here are very low.

Good luck

Lilyth