US citizen moving to Germany
Thread poster: gltietje (X)
gltietje (X)
gltietje (X)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Mar 15, 2006

Hello all. I have been translating part time for about 2 years now and am now considering a move to Germany. Right now, I am planning on supporting myself by teaching English part time and continuing to translate part time. However, I've looked around on the German Embassy in Washington's website and several German government agencies and have not been able to tell whether I would need any type of special permit for this type of arrangement, or whether the permit I would receive from an English... See more
Hello all. I have been translating part time for about 2 years now and am now considering a move to Germany. Right now, I am planning on supporting myself by teaching English part time and continuing to translate part time. However, I've looked around on the German Embassy in Washington's website and several German government agencies and have not been able to tell whether I would need any type of special permit for this type of arrangement, or whether the permit I would receive from an English language school would suffice. Do any of you know? Also, any practical tips (such as tax regs) related to setting oneself up as a foreign national translator in Germany would be appreciated. Thanks!Collapse

Woodstock (X)
Woodstock (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 14:56
German to English
+ ...
In Germany you need permits for everything Mar 16, 2006

Hi!

First, are you coming here by yourself or do you have a German spouse?

You had better check with the German Embassy or Consulate for the latest information, as I have been here so long I don't know what may have changed. Plus I was married to a German citizen when I got here.

Once here, you have to register with the Auslandsamt and Einwohnermeldeamt to get your residence and work permits. I'm not sure in which order, but bring a thick book to read while
... See more
Hi!