Trying to take off
Thread poster: Silvia Fernandez Castilla
Silvia Fernandez Castilla
Silvia Fernandez Castilla  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:58
English to Spanish
Apr 11, 2006

I have had my university degree in Translation & Interpreting for quite a few years now and I think it's about time to set myself up as a freelance translator. Are there any legal procedures I should follow? I have the feeling there are (invoicing, VAT...) but I don't know how to do it or where to start.

Katharina Wawrzon-Stewart
Katharina Wawrzon-Stewart  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English to German
+ ...
Search the forums Apr 11, 2006

Hi Silvia,
I'm also fairly new to the world of translation and being a member of proz.com has certainly helped. I suggest you start off by searching the forums (go to Community and then Forum search), where you will find lots of posts on getting established, e.g. regarding rates, VAT, business practices etc. Networking is also a great way to meet other translators - have a look at upcoming Powwows and Conferences under Community.
Best of luck - we're in the same boat, I know how hard
... See more
Hi Silvia,
I'm also fairly new to the world of translation and being a member of proz.com has certainly helped. I suggest you start off by searching the forums (go to Community and then Forum search), where you will find lots of posts on getting established, e.g. regarding rates, VAT, business practices etc. Networking is also a great way to meet other translators - have a look at upcoming Powwows and Conferences under Community.
Best of luck - we're in the same boat, I know how hard it is to get things rolling in the first place...
Katharina

[Edited at 2006-04-11 18:00]
Collapse

awilliams
awilliams
United Kingdom
Italian to English
+ ...
IR Apr 11, 2006

Hi Silvia,