Part-timer reporting years of full-time experience
Thread poster: Heather Chinchilla

Heather Chinchilla
United States
Local time: 19:26
Spanish to English
+ ...
May 6, 2006

Hello, I'm hoping to get feedback on the following delemna: I'm not yet able to support myself as a full-time translator and don't know how many years of full-time experience to report on my proZ.com profile and my CV.

I have about 8 years of part-time experience with a combination of translation, sight translation and interpretation. The earlier experience was mostly on-the-job experience (full-time jobs, part-time translating/interpreting), but it's experience none the less.

The most recent experience is a combination of on-the-job work, work for a couple of direct clients, volunteer work, a couple of classes, and self-study.

I know this isn't full-time experience, but I feel the need to convert this experience into full-time terms in order to honestly report my experience and therefore increase my chances of getting more, and eventually full-time work.

I know I'm not the first person with this dlimna. I'd love to hear what some of you did or would do in such circumstances. Thanks in advance!

Direct link Reply with quote

Armorel Young  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:26
Member (2004)
German to English
Tell it as it is May 6, 2006