Thread poster: Alisha
Alisha
Alisha
Local time: 09:26
English to Italian
+ ...
Sep 6, 2002

Hi everybody!

How are you all? Hope you\'re doing well!

I\'m a young translator (English-Italian, German-Italian and viceversa). I graduated last year but haven\'t found a job as translator yet! And that\'s really frustrating! I\'ve been studying hard to become a translator since I was at High School at the age of 15... I\'ve always known I was meant to be a translator, but last year I found out it wasn\'t that easy!!

I graduated in translation studies and obtained
... See more
Hi everybody!

How are you all? Hope you\'re doing well!

I\'m a young translator (English-Italian, German-Italian and viceversa). I graduated last year but haven\'t found a job as translator yet! And that\'s really frustrating! I\'ve been studying hard to become a translator since I was at High School at the age of 15... I\'ve always known I was meant to be a translator, but last year I found out it wasn\'t that easy!!

I graduated in translation studies and obtained the highest mark, which I thought would have helped me succeeding in the world of translation. I thought it was a good start, but I was wrong! And beside my results at University, I was (and am now as well!) sure I could be a good translator, but translation agencies in the area didn\'t even reply to my letters just because I\'m not very experienced! How do I get experienced if no one is going to give me a job? I didn\'t expect them to call up and give me thousands of jobs, but I expected them to send me translation tests at least!! I\'m not afraid of showing what I can do, because I do know I\'m able to do something especially when it deals with translation!!!

I don\'t want to give up (I\'ve never done that before!) but at the same time I can hardly find the courage to go on in this way!