Thread poster: Alex Boladeras
Alex Boladeras  Identity Verified
Indonesia
Local time: 02:55
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 9, 2006

Dear Prozians

What do you think is the demand for translators of English into Spanish in Oz? I am a fairly well-established (as "well-established" as one can be in this profession) freelancer wishing to emigrate to Australia (or rather, whether the Australian immigration authorities would allow me to). I am fairly confident I would be able to preserve my current client base despite of the time difference but still...

I would really appreciate any thoughts that you may have.

Cheers,
Alex

Direct link Reply with quote

Patricia Colombera
Local time: 15:55
English to Spanish
+ ...
good luck Aug 9, 2006

Alex,
I won't answer your question because I have no clue about the market in Oz. However, I wish you good luck. I love Australia (specially Brisbane) and it's my dream to live there for a while since I'm an English-Spanish translator too.
Anyway, I'm sure you can keep your clients in spite of the time difference, it's just a matter of organization and meeting dealines.
Break a leg.
Patricia

Jande  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 04:55
Danish to English
+ ...
I am confident you'll be able to preserve your client base. Aug 9, 2006

A friend of mine teaches Spanish privately and lives off it. It was her who put me onto translating and teaching Danish in the first place. There are many people here who want to learn Spanish, not only adults, but children as well.

The translating clients I have are usually fine with the time difference. In my experience the most problems you will have are with the source language based companies who are not used to working with source lanaguage to English translators in such different time zones.