Thread poster: Lisa Roberts

Lisa Roberts  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 07:02
Spanish to English
+ ...
Aug 15, 2006

Hi there,

Difficulty getting started as a translator seems to be the norm - I'm certainly no exception. I have a degree in translation and a little experience - and due to begin my DipTrans in a month or so. I have been writing to agencies for almost a year with no success. I feel that I have exhausted all possibilities and have been wondering whether I have unrealistic expectations and should just wait until I am more qualified. The only recent work I have been given is translating on a voluntary basis for an online publication - which is no doubt a good way to gain experience but the work is very sporadic. Does any one have any suggestions as to how I could better market myself or information on alternative job sources? I translate from Spanish into English.

Many thanks,
Lisa

Direct link Reply with quote

Orla Ryan  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 06:02
The KB Aug 15, 2006

There are a number of useful articles about this in the Proz Knowledge Base, have you checked them out?

I don't think it is a case of becoming more qualified. For example, there are plenty of good translators out there who don't have any "official" translation qualifications and they're doing just fine.

Michele Johnson  Identity Verified
Germany
German to English
+ ...
Improve resume + profile Aug 15, 2006

Lisa, I have 2 main suggestions when I look at your profile and resume:

1) Participate in kudoz. Demonstrate your skills to potential employers by answering questions. Definitely add contact information to your profile.