Mobile menu

Where to get first job/client? no experience but have language degree
Thread poster: xxxkarenee
Local time: 02:15
French to English
+ ...
Dec 13, 2006

Hi, I have an undergraduate degree in French. I consider myself "near-fluent." I currently do sales for a translation/interpretation powerhouse in NYC. I took the job b/c I ulitmately want to freelance translate French to English. (however, my employer cannot know this!)

With just an undergraduate degree in French, where do I get my first job or client? Seems everyone wants a certiicate. I don't want to spend the money on NYU's certification program, I feel I'm capable of being really successful without it. How do you get ur foot in the door without any experience?

I am just so passionate about the French language, it's basically all I want to do!

Direct link Reply with quote

Alexandre Coutu
Local time: 01:15
English to French
Seek other translators Dec 13, 2006

Try to establish contacts with other translators in the same pair (French to English) and explain that you want to gain experience. Hopefully, you will accept to work for low enough a rate that someone will send you a text and help you by correcting the text for you. You cannot start on your own, you need someone to revise your work first, until your translations are strong enough. I mean, I suppose you could start on your own, but I wouldn't advise it.

Most translators have a person (a mentor even) that guided them when they began. It's certainly my case.

Steven Sidore  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:15
Member (2003)
German to English
Read through this very forum Dec 13, 2006

Nice to hear you're passionate about your language, that's a big help in this business.

Your question has been posed many times and many ways in this very forum (Getting Established). Try reading through the archive, the advice contained there will point you in the right direction.

Good luck,

GoodWords  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:15
Member (2003)