How to get started
Thread poster: Clara Ogwuazor
Clara Ogwuazor
Clara Ogwuazor  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 14:07
German to English
Dec 22, 2006

I am relatively new in the translation business. I just finished my translation studies and do not yet have enough experience neither do I have any previous project work. I have not really found a way of tackling the competitive nature of the business. Can anyboby let me know how to break the ice? How do I set my rates? Thanks, Clara

William [Bill] Gray
William [Bill] Gray  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 15:07
Member (2006)
English
+ ...
Try here first... Dec 22, 2006

Hi, Clara! And welcome to one of the friendliest and most helpful networks around.

For rates, I would suggest you look at two built-in features in ProZ.com.

1. Undert "Tools" in the main menu at the top of the home page, you will find a rates calculator. There you can very accurately plot what your expected costs are, and what return you expect from your time spent in your work of translating (incl. things like admin, planning, reading, browsing for new books to buy,
... See more
Hi, Clara! And welcome to one of the friendliest and most helpful networks around.

1. Undert "Tools" in the main menu at the top of the home page, you will find a rates calculator. There you can very accurately plot what your expected costs are, and what return you expect from your time spent in your work of translating (incl. things like admin, planning, reading, browsing for new books to buy, etc.).

2. Under "Jobs" on the home page top menu, you will find a graphic representation of all the ProZ.com members various rates, and see where you lie in the mix. I believe you will have to enter your rates before this is available, but you will see on your Profile that even though you need to enter rates, you can set them to be visible only to you, and not to everyone in general.