Working abroad
Thread poster: Dominique Robidoux

Dominique Robidoux  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 01:39
English to French
Feb 9, 2007

Hello,
I am a freelance translator/proofreader and I would like to travel to Europe or Australia. I was wondering if there could be any inhouse jobs for short periods of time (ex. 1 month) that could allow me to travel and visit at the same time? Does that exist for European or Australian translation agencies.
If you know, can you tell me where I should apply?
Thanks

Direct link Reply with quote

Wolfgang Jörissen  Identity Verified
Belize
Dutch to German
+ ...
Why inhouse? Feb 9, 2007

Hi Dominique!
As inspiring translation agencies can be, but... why would you want to travel thousands of miles in order to waste your time on a 9 to 5 job? Just take your laptop and cellphone and serve your clients in the usual way. You could use your trip for visiting potential clients though.
Keep us posted where you are

Jan Andre de la Porte  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 07:39
Member (2006)
English to Danish
+ ...
Cost of a mobile Internet connection Feb 9, 2007

Hi Wolfgang and Dominique,

I tend to agree with you Wolfgang. In any case and to my knowledge agencies rarely have an "in-and-out" translator policy. Probably because local regulations restrict them from doing so. (social security, insurances etc.)

I've often thought of the idea you mentioned Wolfgang, but wouldn't it be very expensive to work in this way? I mean, I am usually more or less constantly wired to the Internet when I work (on-line dictionaries, messages etc.). Doing this through a cell phone would be very costly, no? But if there is a way around this it's an obvious possibility.

Veronica Coquard
France
Member (2007)
French to English
Here's an idea Feb 9, 2007