Thread poster: Juliana Brown

Juliana Brown  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 20:50
Member (2007)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Mar 12, 2007

Although I have been working quite happily for several years without any CAT tools, I've realized that there are a lot of jobs where my lack of knowledge in that area is a serious problem ( i.e. work I could have gotten and did not).
Trados is way beyond my budget at the moment, but I wonder if it makes more sense to stretch myself thin and get/learn it, or if the less expensive Wordfast would do in the meanwhile...

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2007-03-13 07:52]

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxMarc P  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:50
German to English
+ ...
With OmegaT, of course! Mar 12, 2007

It's free, and easy to learn.

Marc

Gisela Pérez González  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 01:50
English to Spanish
CAT beginner Mar 12, 2007

I have been working without any CAT too. An acquaintance of mine who happened to be a ProZ member told me about TRADOS and I started to work with it. I know it is quite an expensive tool, but you should look at it as a little investment. It would help you to work more with less effort. I think these tools are worthwhile. I have just taken advantage of one of the special purchases of TRADOS 2007 in this site. You should have a look at any of them.
Good luck!

ciovo  Identity Verified
Croatia
English to Croatian
+ ...
Wordfast is very good way to start. Mar 12, 2007

You can download Wordfast and use it for free (with a 500 TU limit). This is ideal to get a grip on how a CAT tool works. I've been using it for a few years now and am quite happy with it. If you work with repetitive texts is can save you a lot of time. The manual is very good and explains the program very well. There are also training sessions you can download for a step by step procedure (begginer and advanced level).

Good luck with your CAT tools!

Israel
Member (2007)
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER