Anna Frandsen
Anna Frandsen  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:19
Spanish to English
+ ...
Mar 20, 2007

Hello fellow translators!

I'm a newbie! I've been translating for a few years now casually but am just now starting to leave other employment to commit myself completely to translation. Up until now, I have not needed to/been able to offer my services online, and astonishingly enough, have not used the internet as a forum/resource to promote my work.

Suggestions? Advice? Info?? How did you get started? What did you need? Is everyone using Trados? Are you enjoying it? Ho
... See more
Hello fellow translators!

I'm a newbie! I've been translating for a few years now casually but am just now starting to leave other employment to commit myself completely to translation. Up until now, I have not needed to/been able to offer my services online, and astonishingly enough, have not used the internet as a forum/resource to promote my work.

Suggestions? Advice? Info?? How did you get started? What did you need? Is everyone using Trados? Are you enjoying it? How is the quality of life? Pros and cons of the profession? I feel prehistoric as I translate with dictionaries and the occasional websearch...also a bit frightened to leave other employment and dedicate my time only to translating. Also very excited. This website seems like an amazing tool!

Would really appreciate your thoughts/ideas/responses.
Collapse

Inga Jakobi
Inga Jakobi  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 21:19
Member (2006)
Chinese to German
+ ...
I started last year Mar 21, 2007

Hi afrandson,