Thread poster: Julia Glasmann

Julia Glasmann
Germany
Member (2006)
English to German
+ ...
Mar 28, 2007

Hello everyone!

I am rather new to the translation business (I only finished university last year) and - quite naturally - struggling for jobs.

Even though I have applied to numerous job offers I haven't got a single job via proz.com so far. As I am competing with a lot of very experienced translators here, I am not too worried about that.

What I am concered about is, that I hardly got any reactions at all, only two or three people had the courtesy to write back (and I think a kind "no" is still better than no reaction). - Is that normal or could it be that it has got something to do with my applications? Do you maybe have any tipps of how to write an application that a potential client might take into consideration even though I am a newbie?

I appreciate any comments on this topic, thank you in advance,
Julia

Direct link Reply with quote

Kathryn Strachecky  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:23
French to English
Normal I'm afraid Mar 28, 2007

Hi Julia,

I'm afraid that no reply does seem to be the normal response, as much for ProZ jobs as for just about any job. Although this may seem rude and terribly disappointing for you, those offering the jobs get sent many CVs and it would take them a long time to answer everybody.

I know, it's not an excuse, but life is like that.

However, many people and agencies do seem to keep hold of the CVs they receive. I've been contacted months or even years after having sent out CVs. So don't despair. It is hard breaking in to the translation business, but take heart, it will pay off eventually!

Keep sending out those CVs and applying for jobs!

Mulyadi Subali  Identity Verified
Indonesia
Local time: 04:23
English to Indonesian
+ ...
persistence and updated profile Mar 28, 2007