Mobile menu

I'm taking the ATA certification exam next month. Any tips?
Thread poster: Laura Tridico

Laura Tridico  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:58
Member (2006)
French to English
+ ...
May 20, 2007

Hi all! For any ATA certified translators, I'm taking the exam for the first time next month and I'd love some advice on what to expect. I've only been translating for about 6 months but I'm a former lawyer with a fair amount of experience and have been working steadily since I started. I assume that passing will be a bit of a gamble since I've not been in the business very long, but its one I'm happy to take. BTW, I'm taking the French to English exam, and I'm a native English speaker...

Laura

[Edited at 2007-05-20 03:41]

Direct link Reply with quote

mariana24  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 07:58
Spanish
+ ...
Good luck! May 20, 2007

Hi Laura,

I don't think, honestly, that the gamble here is that you are probably out of practice. The gamble is the correction of the exam itself.

I attended a short course to take the ATA certification exam where we were shown many past, corrected papers. I saw incredible things there. I saw two identical renditions of the same phrase marked as an error in one paper and left as correct in the other. I saw a complete paper translated literally word by word, which resulted in a totally incomprehensible final text in the target language (Spanish), marked as passed. I knew of a person who took the exam four times and failed. At the fourth time she paid for a review...and passed.
So...what can I say. This was useful to me. It was not an opinion from someone, they were facts, I saw the exams. I spoke to the person who payed.