The lesser-used languages: useful for translation?
Thread poster: Macià Planas
Macià Planas
Macià Planas
Local time: 05:14
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 9, 2007

I am a professional translator and my target languages are Portuguese, Spanish and Catalan.

I was thinking of learning some new languages this year, but not like French, German or Italian, I was thinking of something more like Slovenian, Swedish, Turkish or Romanian.

However, I don't really know if there are any translation jobs for translating from these languages into Portuguese/Spanish/Catalan.

Alan R King
Alan R King
Local time: 06:14
Basque to English
+ ...
In memoriam
There are jobs, but... Jun 9, 2007

There is work translating out of (presumably, in you case) such languages, but fewer than out of "larger" languages. That, however, is not a problem, in principle, because the supply of competent translators who can deal with such languages is also much smaller. So, it's a smaller market, but that doesn't necessarily mean it is a less profitable one.

On the other hand, if all you're interested in is making money, you may be looking in the wrong place; perhaps others can provide bett
... See more
There is work translating out of (presumably, in you case) such languages, but fewer than out of "larger" languages. That, however, is not a problem, in principle, because the supply of competent translators who can deal with such languages is also much smaller. So, it's a smaller market, but that doesn't necessarily mean it is a less profitable one.

On the other hand, if all you're interested in is making money, you may be looking in the wrong place; perhaps others can provide better advice on that. Most people I know who work with such languages have other motives than simply love of money...
Collapse

Anne Goff
Anne Goff  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:14
French to English
+ ...
Notifications Jun 9, 2007