https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/75740-project_management_to_translation%3A_a_possible_career_path.html

Project management to translation: a possible career path?
Thread poster: Chiara Biagini
Chiara Biagini
Chiara Biagini
Local time: 07:25
English to Italian
Jun 18, 2007

Hello everyone,

I'm quite new to the world of translation, and I am tring to break into it with little success (but I have onl just started).
While looking for work with translationa gencies I have been offered afew times jobs as project manager, ie managing relations between end-client and translators.
I really want to work as a translator so I've alwas declined, but I was thinking, maybe it might be a wa to make contacts? Has anyone ever started this way?

... See more
Hello everyone,

I'm quite new to the world of translation, and I am tring to break into it with little success (but I have onl just started).
While looking for work with translationa gencies I have been offered afew times jobs as project manager, ie managing relations between end-client and translators.
I really want to work as a translator so I've alwas declined, but I was thinking, maybe it might be a wa to make contacts? Has anyone ever started this way?

I'd reall like to know what others think about this.

Thanks in advance

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2007-06-18 14:37]
Collapse

Christine Biloré
Christine Biloré  Identity Verified
France
English to French
+ ...
It could be a good experience... Jun 18, 2007

Hello Clairemo,

When I started as a translator, I was offered to stand in for a PM assistant in an agency.

it really made me aware that this job wasn't for me but, on the other hand, I learnt a lot about the industry and it was surely a very useful experience for my strict translation practice afterwards.

Christine

[Edited at 2007-06-18 14:36]

Livia D'Ettorre
Livia D'Ettorre  Identity Verified
Netherlands
English to Italian
+ ...
My experience Jun 18, 2007

Hi,