UK Tax / National Insurance / Being self-employed etc
Thread poster: Sophie Paterson
Sophie Paterson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:18
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jul 27, 2007

I'm just starting out as a freelancer, and although at the moment I don't earn enough to take me over the UK tax threshold (am still a student), at some point I'm hoping to freelance full-time and hopefully make my living out of it...

But! I'm at a complete loss as to how to go about organising all the money matters. I don't even know what questions to ask! So if anyone could give me a clear, step-by-step guide as to how I go about declaring myself self-employed, what tax code I might need to ask for(???), what I have to do as regards tax on invoices, making NI contributions etc, that would be so helpful!! It's all a bit of a confusing mess in my head at the moment.

Oh, also, what happens if I need to get a part-time job alongside the freelancing? What do I do about tax in that case?

Sorry if these seem very silly, obvious questions; unfortunately finance has never been my strong point.....

Thanks very much in advance.

Direct link Reply with quote

Anita Cassidy  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2005)
English to German
HMRC website Jul 27, 2007

The HMRC website contains a lot of information on self-employment:

This should really answer all your questions. If not, feel free to ask.

Carole Paquis  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2007)
English to French
Visit your local tax office Jul 27, 2007

They are very helpful and pleasant and will explain lots of things to you. They will also point you in the right direction if you need other info.
I have been self-employed 13 years and they have always been my first port of call, including on some very specific matters.

Besides, face to face is always better.

Martin Hood  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:18
+ ...
Declare yourself 'Self-Employed' Jul 27, 2007