How to work your PR
Thread poster: Alison Nolen
Alison Nolen
Local time: 17:45
Japanese to English
+ ...
Nov 9, 2007

Hello everyone,

I've just started trying to establish myself in the translation/editing world and of course I'm trying to learn the best ways to get myself out there. I've read many good suggestions on this forum and in other places, but I have a few questions I thought I'd throw out there to see what people think.

My primary concern is how to garner interest when I have no professional experience. I suppose that's the major issue when most people are starting out. Of course in the ProZ community there are options such as answering KudoZ questions and interacting in forums--I understand this boosts your visibility. Unfortunately when it comes to the "About me" field in applications, or the "PR" field in profiles for other sites, I'm at a bit of a loss. What conveys a serious attitude and catches attention?

Would it be prudent to state something about my education? And I've translated music lyrics and some personal interviews on my own time as a hobby. Would it be useful to append these as samples of my work, even though they weren't for clients? It may seem a silly question, but I'm not really sure what it is that clients look for in a translator.

Any help/opinions/advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Direct link Reply with quote

Jerónimo Fernández  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
+ ...
My 2 cents Nov 9, 2007

OK, this might be easier the other way around: