Work experience in exchange for comments and feedback, is it a good idea?
Thread poster: Ana Lozano
Ana Lozano
Ana Lozano  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:26
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 17, 2008

Hello there!

I am trying to find ways of building a career as a translator and it is proving rather difficult. I studied English Philology at University in Spain and have translated unofficially for many years. I am now doing the International House Online General Translation course as I cannot afford to do any postgrad studying at university - small children and tight finances!

I would really like to know if it would be a good idea to do unpaid virtual work experienc
... See more
Hello there!

I am trying to find ways of building a career as a translator and it is proving rather difficult. I studied English Philology at University in Spain and have translated unofficially for many years. I am now doing the International House Online General Translation course as I cannot afford to do any postgrad studying at university - small children and tight finances!

I would really like to know if it would be a good idea to do unpaid virtual work experience in exchange for comments/knowledge. I know that some agencies will allow trainee translators to do unpaid work experience in-house and I am wondering if this would be possible online.

If anyone is interested in giving their opinion or even further, giving me some pointers on how to go about this it really would make my day. I do get feedback from the course but it is only one big assignment every fortnight and it just isn't enough.

Also, any recommendations on books on how to improve my translation technique etc.

Thanks to all in advance!!!!
Collapse

María Teresa Taylor Oliver
María Teresa Taylor Oliver  Identity Verified
Panama
Local time: 03:26
Spanish to English
+ ...
Volunteer translations Jan 17, 2008

You could search on the Web, I know there are some non-profit organizations that use volunteer translators.