juholding
juholding  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 22:26
French to Norwegian
+ ...
Feb 9, 2008

hello,
I am relatively new to working through the Internet.
My question is to those of you who are experienced in this area.
when taking a job for a foreign translator company, how can I be sure that they will pay me for the job?
And, also what do I do if they don't pay?

Thank you for your answer(s)

Regards,
Unni

Capicuan Girl
Capicuan Girl
English to Spanish
Hi... Feb 9, 2008

... up to my own experience, it is up to you deciding whether a client is worth giving the try or not. I'd say, stick for big companies whenever possible. On the other hand, think that even in your own country you can be really far from your client. In this case, the only difference between this client and a foreign one is language and legislation. But as I said before, if you are going to be unpaid anyway, it doesn't matter wherever your client is. The proceed will be slow, and you will be angr... See more
... up to my own experience, it is up to you deciding whether a client is worth giving the try or not. I'd say, stick for big companies whenever possible. On the other hand, think that even in your own country you can be really far from your client. In this case, the only difference between this client and a foreign one is language and legislation. But as I said before, if you are going to be unpaid anyway, it doesn't matter wherever your client is. The proceed will be slow, and you will be angry and upset anyway.

[Edited at 2008-02-09 11:34]
Collapse

Attila Piróth
Attila Piróth  Identity Verified
France
English to Hungarian
+ ...
BlueBoard + PO Feb 9, 2008

juholding wrote:

hello,
I am relatively new to working through the Internet.
My question is to those of you who are experienced in this area.
when taking a job for a foreign translator company, how can I be sure that they will pay me for the job?

Thank you for your answer(s)

Regards,
Unni

Hi Unni,