bibish (X)
bibish (X)
France
Local time: 01:32
French to English
+ ...
Feb 14, 2008

Hello everyone,

I am British but I live in Paris, France and would like to become an in-house translator (French and Italian into English), but am unsure how the system works here. I hear that you need to have a diploma from an 'école de traduction' as what counts here is qualifications and where you got them rather than experience. I have a degree in languages and am looking at doing a PG Diploma/MA in Translation by distance learning this year, but would that be recognised here?
... See more
Hello everyone,

I am British but I live in Paris, France and would like to become an in-house translator (French and Italian into English), but am unsure how the system works here. I hear that you need to have a diploma from an 'école de traduction' as what counts here is qualifications and where you got them rather than experience. I have a degree in languages and am looking at doing a PG Diploma/MA in Translation by distance learning this year, but would that be recognised here? I did consider starting by doing freelance work, but it is quite complicated here and also expensive. I would be looking for something full-time if I were to leave my job.

I would appreciate any advice! Thanks a lot.

Naomi
Collapse

Terry Richards
Terry Richards
France
French to English
+ ...
Diplomas not required Feb 14, 2008

Hi Naomi,

I'm in exactly the same position as you, British living in France and working as a translator. I don't have any kind of language qualifications or diplomas and get plenty of work. Nobody has ever asked me for any qualifications. If you want to do an MA, by all means do so but I doubt that it will ever repay the financial or time investment involved.

As far as the nightmare French bureaucracy goes, you might want to consider going the "portage" route. It's fair
... See more
Hi Naomi,