https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/99961-charging_extra_for_graphs_tables_etc.html

charging extra for graphs tables etc
Thread poster: Claudine-Hélène L.
Claudine-Hélène L.
Claudine-Hélène L.
France
Local time: 05:27
English to French
+ ...
Mar 18, 2008

Hi everyone

As a beginner I would appreciate advice concerning what to do when a client gives you a document in a barely readable (bad photocopy) paper format and full of graphs, tables etc (50% of the document)
That is going to mean alot of extra work for me ! As I see it, my job is to translate the words from one language to another, not to have to go into Excel and do up graphs etc...
I offere
... See more
Hi everyone

As a beginner I would appreciate advice concerning what to do when a client gives you a document in a barely readable (bad photocopy) paper format and full of graphs, tables etc (50% of the document)
That is going to mean alot of extra work for me ! As I see it, my job is to translate the words from one language to another, not to have to go into Excel and do up graphs etc...
I offered to either simply translate all the words contained in the graphs/tables : they would simply appear in the final word doc as a line of text
The other option,should the client desire a finished document, would be that i redo everything but charge extra for this service.
What is the usual policy and how does one figure out how to charge for this "extra" ?

Id certainly appreciate any advice or input from other more experienced translators...
Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
It's okay not to format Mar 18, 2008

cllmda wrote:
I offered to either simply translate all the words contained in the graphs/tables: they would simply appear in the final word doc as a line of text.