Brigith Guimarães
Brigith Guimarães  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 10:48
Member (2003)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Apr 4, 2003

I am new in the world of web translating, but very keen on making my way. Among my many doubts, for which I have already found answers to through the statements of other Pros, one still remains:

At the time of invoicing (hope it comes..), what sort of invoice may I send to customer? Do I have to mention VAT or simply the total value of the job?

Thanks for helping!
[addsig]

Brigith Guimarães
Brigith Guimarães  Identity Verified
Portugal
Member (2003)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
"How should I bill" request Apr 4, 2003

Thank you very much for your prompt explanation. My main doubt was about VAT.

Will come back if I need to, if you\'ll allow me to.

brigith

Mónica Machado
Mónica Machado
United Kingdom
English to Portuguese
+ ...
VAT depends on location of your client Apr 5, 2003

Hello,

By Portuguese Tax Law you have to charge VAT (19%) in all jobs you perform for clients located in Portugal. If you work in Portugal and your client is also located in Portugal you have to charge 19% VAT.

If you work for clients either in Europe or outside Europe you don\'t charge VAT.

When talking to the tax office, don\'t work with them directly in what concerns VAT. Most Tax Offices in Portugal don\'t know this regulation v
... See more
Hello,

By Portuguese Tax Law you have to charge VAT (19%) in all jobs you perform for clients located in Portugal. If you work in Portugal and your client is also located in Portugal you have to charge 19% VAT.

If you work for clients either in Europe or outside Europe you don\'t charge VAT.

When talking to the tax office, don\'t work with them directly in what concerns VAT. Most Tax Offices in Portugal don\'t know this regulation very well since this is new - a couple of years ago this law read differently.