Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Which printer would you recommend (just starting out)?
Thread poster: Caroline Lakey
Caroline Lakey
Caroline Lakey  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 14:04
French to English
Jun 12, 2008

I'm just starting out as a translator, and I'm looking at which printer to buy.

Having had loads of problems with various different printers at home, I'm quite wary!

Is there any make/model which you would recommend as being reliable, or conversely which you would avoid?

Many thanks in advance,

Caroline

Margreet Logmans (X)
Margreet Logmans (X)  Identity Verified
Netherlands
English to Dutch
+ ...
HP Laser Jun 12, 2008

Hi Caroline,

I have worked with Hewlett Packard printers for more than ten years now, and I'm a very satisfied customer!
I currently have the LaserJet 2015d for my office, and the LaserJet 1022 for personal use. Both are very good, both are monochrome (black/white).

Laser printers are not as expensive as they used to be. Catridges are not cheap, but the cost per page is not bad. Quality is very good, and nothing is lost if you spill coffee over your printed pages!
... See more
Hi Caroline,

I have worked with Hewlett Packard printers for more than ten years now, and I'm a very satisfied customer!
I currently have the LaserJet 2015d for my office, and the LaserJet 1022 for personal use. Both are very good, both are monochrome (black/white).

Laser printers are not as expensive as they used to be. Catridges are not cheap, but the cost per page is not bad. Quality is very good, and nothing is lost if you spill coffee over your printed pages!
So I'd definitely recommend getting a laser printer.

If you're going to be printing a lot of invoices, business letters etc., it may be worth while to buy a color laser printer. But I send mine electronically, mostly, so it is not worth it for me.

If you buy a new printer, make sure it is Vista-compatible, but also compatible with other Windows editions.