Thread poster: Silvia D'Amico
Silvia D'Amico
Silvia D'Amico  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:42
English to Italian
Dec 7, 2011

Hey all,

I was on TED this morning and saw the video below, which explains how they are planning on translating the whole Web in most languages for free, using people who are learning a language for free. I thought it was interesting even though I'm not sure if or how well it will work. The guy speaking seemed pretty confident, as a translator I am skeptical. I am looking forward to y
... See more
Hey all,

I was on TED this morning and saw the video below, which explains how they are planning on translating the whole Web in most languages for free, using people who are learning a language for free. I thought it was interesting even though I'm not sure if or how well it will work. The guy speaking seemed pretty confident, as a translator I am skeptical. I am looking forward to your opinions!

http://www.ted.com/talks/luis_von_ahn_massive_scale_online_collaboration.html?utm_source=newsletter_weekly_2011-12-07&utm_campaign=newsletter_weekly&utm_medium=email

Silvia
Collapse

Linda Karssies
Linda Karssies  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:42
English to Dutch
+ ...
Duolingo an interesting concept Dec 9, 2011

Hi, I saw the video too and was fascinated. A lot would depend on the programming. I can imagine that the approach will work for a large part of a language. It is however hard to imagine the subtleties in a language being expressed by language learners. I'm very interested in how it this will pan out in the future.

Stanislav Pokorny
Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 04:42
English to Czech
+ ...
More opinions... Dec 9, 2011

...on this can be found here.
Just for info...

Phil Hand
Phil Hand  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 11:42
Chinese to English
I'm scared Dec 9, 2011

This kind of thing worries me much more than Google Translate!