Thread poster: Spanish-English Translator
Spanish-English Translator
Local time: 06:16
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 15, 2006

I am very new to Yahoo Messanger.
What I have to do if I want people to know for how long I have been idle?
Thanks, Ines

Galina F
Galina F
United States
Local time: 05:16
English to Russian
+ ...
It is simple Nov 15, 2006

Ines,
you choose the "Messenger" in the main window of Yahoo Messenger, then go to Preferences - Privacy, check the Idle Status and choose the quantity of minutes (Show me as "Idle" if I don't use the computer for ... minutes).
I hope it helps.
Galina

Local time: 06:16
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Still I have a question. Nov 16, 2006

OK. My question is why do I see sometimes the photo of a friend and how long he has been he has been idle and sometimes I only see that he is offline? How does he manage to show this? Thanks and regards, Ines

Galina F
Galina F
United States
Local time: 05:16
English to Russian
+ ...
ok Nov 17, 2006

Hi Ines,
when your friend signs in as visible and is idle for some time you can see his/her pic and the time of being idle.

When he/she is offline you see him or her as being offline.

Also he might seem to be offline if he signs in as being offline.
You choose it - sign as online, offline and permanently offline (kind of this).

Another feature - for example, there is someone in your list of messenger you do not want to talk for now. So you clic
... See more
Hi Ines,
when your friend signs in as visible and is idle for some time you can see his/her pic and the time of being idle.

When he/she is offline you see him or her as being offline.

Also he might seem to be offline if he signs in as being offline.
You choose it - sign as online, offline and permanently offline (kind of this).