Files on FTP server but website not showing
Thread poster: Denyce Seow

Denyce Seow  Identity Verified
Singapore
Local time: 14:37
Member (2004)
Chinese to English
May 30, 2007

I am not an expert in using Frontpage, but a few months ago I did manage to get my website up using this programme. Now I am helping a friend with his website. Everything went on quite smoothly until the very last step. I managed to use the 'Publish Web' function to get the files on the ftp server but nothing shows when I enter the URL in the browser! What could be the problem?

Help...

Denyce

[Edited at 2007-05-30 21:33]

Direct link Reply with quote

Riens Middelhof  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 07:37
Spanish to Dutch
+ ...
just some ideas... May 31, 2007

- Did you check to change the FTP settings to the new site? You might have set them the first time, when you uploaded your own site, because Frontpage asked for new settings. This time it might use the settings you´ve entered before...

- Did you try with the domain name your friend bought, or with the "official" (the hosing location). If you can access it with the hosting name (http://123.123.1.1/~yoursite your problem is the DNS forwarding, something you have to solve through the settings of the domain.

Michael Bastin  Identity Verified
English to French
+ ...
did you upload to the right folder May 31, 2007

like html or htpdocs.

You may have uploaded the site to a wrong location.

Also, if the FTP had already an index file, you may want to delete it.

My 2 cents

Henrik Pipoyan  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:37
Member (2004)
English to Armenian
Hi Denyce May 31, 2007

If the files have been uploaded successfully, this may be a problem of the index file. Some servers use "index.htm" as start file, others use "index.html". Try saving your index file with both "htm" and "html" extensions and upload both.