Mobile menu

I have four years left of college and want to be a conference interpreter - what can I be doing now?
Thread poster: halesd
halesd
Spanish to English
+ ...
Oct 15, 2008

Hi... fairly simple question. I'm in my second year of college, majoring in Spanish, French, and Russian, and I plan on pursuing an advanced degree in interpreting after I graduate (fall '12), and my ultimate goal is to wind up at the UN.

(Long shot, I know, and I'm not turned off to other options - I'm just preparing for UN-style interpreting.)

I already speak Spanish well enough that I feel I could interpret roughly from Spanish to English - but I'm not sure how I should go about this. Are there any programs for people who speak the language, but are new to interpreting? Books, CDs, podcasts, websites? I'm not afraid to spend the money necessary to build a skill as useful as this one, but I would prefer something cheaper - I am a broke college student, after all.

Thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

Jonathan Faydi  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 20:59
Dutch to French
+ ...
Focus on your languages Oct 15, 2008

Hi,

You still have some time ahead of you so I would advise you to focus on your language skills (Spanish, French and Russian) and maybe spend some time in countries where these languages are spoken. You will have all the time to learn interpretation techniques when you enter an interpretation school later.

And don't forget to enjoy it!

Jonathan

Christina Courtright  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:59
Spanish to English
+ ...
agree - language first Oct 15, 2008