Mobile menu

Test interpreting: does such thing exist?
Thread poster: Ana Novikaite

Ana Novikaite  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:44
English to Lithuanian
+ ...
Feb 2, 2009

Dear interpreters,
I am starting as an interpreter (my main occupation is translating, though). I have very little experience in interpreting and recently I had the situation when I was called by organisers of a conference, stating that they would like my services, and invited to come in 30 minutes to talk about the topic and presentations of the event. When I came, they told me that actually they are still looking for an interpreter and wanted me to do TEST-INTEprETING. The text contained a lot of specific terminology (in fact, so specific that if I was doing test TRANSLATION, I would have to use dictionaries). In the end, they said that they do not want to use my services. That was quite frustrating, I would like to ask you if you have any ideas about that: do you have such kind of experience? does such thing as test interpreting exist?

Direct link Reply with quote

Sara Senft  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:44
Spanish to English
+ ...
Apparently does exist/Some advice Feb 2, 2009

It sounds like test interpreting does exist; It's the same basic thing as a translation test. The purpose is to try you out and see if you fit their requirements.

In the future, I recommend that you do plenty of advance preparation. One way I prepare for an assignment is to gather plenty of information about the location, type of appointment, the person for whom I am interpreting, etc. I won't do as well if I jump in to the assignment clueless about what is happening.

There are some articles about interpreting advice listed in the articles directory here on ProZ. Reading them will help you learn more.

AnaNa wrote:

Dear interpreters,