Thread poster: raguidam (X)
raguidam (X)
raguidam (X)
Local time: 08:06
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Apr 3, 2005

Dear Friends,

Does anybody have experience in telephone interpreting? How is it? Is it easy to get a good number of jobs/projects, or is it too hard?

I live in the UK and I already work as an face-to-face interpreter. I would like to work as a telephone interpreter as well. If you could give me any hints or suggestions about this field, I would be very grateful.

Rachel

Benno Groeneveld
Benno Groeneveld  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:06
English to Dutch
+ ...
telephone interpreting Apr 4, 2005

Hi.

I've been doing telephone interpreting for about five years. It's not too hard, the hardest thing is to remain patient and keep a straight face. People can be very strange, especially when they're upset, having just lost their credit card or travelers' cheques, but you knew that already, if you're an interpreter.

There are sometimes technical problems, telephone lines can be noisy, or voices can be weak and since you can't see the person, you can't read body languag
... See more
Hi.

I've been doing telephone interpreting for about five years. It's not too hard, the hardest thing is to remain patient and keep a straight face. People can be very strange, especially when they're upset, having just lost their credit card or travelers' cheques, but you knew that already, if you're an interpreter.

There are sometimes technical problems, telephone lines can be noisy, or voices can be weak and since you can't see the person, you can't read body language.

But overall, if you can do regular interpreting, you can do telephone interpreting. I find it fairly lucrative, since I can do it in between other jobs.

I've been mainly working with Language Line in California, they're a good outfit, pay well, and very timely.

Best regards,

Benno
Dutch English
St. Paul, Minnesota
US
Collapse

raguidam (X)
raguidam (X)
English to Portuguese
+ ...