What are the rates for interpreting as a "business gateway"?
Thread poster: Eloïse Notet-Gilet
Eloïse Notet-Gilet
Eloïse Notet-Gilet
France
Local time: 10:26
Member (2005)
German to French
+ ...
May 10, 2006

I am a graduate translator in German, English and Italian (french mother tongue) and I have some experience in interpreting (on fairs especially). I am at the time negotiating a daily rate with a new french client (private) who is proposing me the following job: he is seeking for new distributors in Europe and in the US, and wants to travel between 10 and 20 days in each country, to meet and select some of them... and he needs an interpreter both in German and English to deal with the distributo... See more
I am a graduate translator in German, English and Italian (french mother tongue) and I have some experience in interpreting (on fairs especially). I am at the time negotiating a daily rate with a new french client (private) who is proposing me the following job: he is seeking for new distributors in Europe and in the US, and wants to travel between 10 and 20 days in each country, to meet and select some of them... and he needs an interpreter both in German and English to deal with the distributors ..
He asked me what my rate (a daily one) would be for accompany him in his travels (10 to 20 days each!), given that he proposes to pay all costs (airplane, hotel, food etc.).
I could imagine how much I would ask for a mission of 1 or 2 days.. but for one week or two weeks, no idea!!
All suggestions are welcome, thanks in advance
Collapse

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:26
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
Start calculating May 11, 2006

You say:" I could imagine how much I would ask for a mission of 1 or 2 days.. but for one week or two weeks, no idea".