How to become an interpreter?
Thread poster: alayasin
alayasin
alayasin
Local time: 21:31
French to English
Jun 8, 2006

I am a recent language graduate from university and was wondering whether i could get any advice on how to become an interpreter.... do i need to do a masters in interpreting for example?
Thanks.

Williamson
Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Flemish to English
+ ...
Not overnight Jun 8, 2006

By adding another language to your language combination and trying to get accepted/pass the admission tests of ISIT,ESIT, Westminster, ETI, and other schools of interpreting with a good reputation.
Unlike it is the case with translation you can not become an interpreter overnight without basic training.

[Edited at 2006-06-08 11:38]

EmmanuelleAn (X)
EmmanuelleAn (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:31
English to French
+ ...
One response Jun 8, 2006

Yes, you definitely need training to become an interpreter. Some professional interpreters disagree with that. I attended a one-year comprehensive course in interpreting in Dublin City University (unfortunately the course no longer exists). I do not think I would have had the confidence to start a career as a conference interpreter without it. Every morning we would have simultaneous interpreting training performed in real booths and we used recordings of real conferences as training material. E... See more