Mobile menu

Interpreting: simult. or consecutive more often?
Thread poster: xxxForest
xxxForest
French to German
Dec 15, 2006

Dear readers,

I have been studying translation and interpreting for a few years now and lately realised that I am much more competent in simultaneous than consecutive interpreting. So I wonder whether it would be possible to offer just simultaneous interpreting (besides translation) when working as an interpretor after the studies.

What I would like to know: how often do you do which style of interpreting? Maybe you can express it in numbers, for instance "60% simultaneous and 40% consecutive".

Furthermore, do you think it depends on the language and the theme how often one does the one or the other?

I guess this could start a really interesting discussion. Thanks a lot in advance!

Direct link Reply with quote

Mulyadi Subali  Identity Verified
Indonesia
Local time: 18:28
English to Indonesian
+ ...
mostly simultaneous Dec 15, 2006

i handled mostly simultaneous interpreting on my professional projects. as with you, i'm more convenient in doing simultaneous interpreting than consecutive.

Maria Eugenia Farre  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 08:28
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In Brazil, mostly simultaneous Dec 15, 2006

I don't know about other countries, but in Brazil we use mostly simultaneous, even for small meetings (portable). I think this is probably a global trend as equipment rental prices drop with the introduction of new technologies. I don't do more than 5% consecutive jobs a year which is great because I'm not a very big fan of consecutive.

erika rubinstein  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:28
Member (2011)
English to Russian
+ ...
I do both. Dec 15, 2006

I like more simultaneous, but in Germany the interpreting technik is very expensive, that why it is used only at big conferences.

teju  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:28
English to Spanish
+ ...
In the US Dec 15, 2006