https://www.proz.com/forum/interpreting/79091-interpreting_rates_in_the_unites_states_california.html

Interpreting rates in the Unites States - California
Thread poster: Ana P. Gutierrez
Ana P. Gutierrez
Ana P. Gutierrez  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:57
Member (2007)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 19, 2007

Hello,

I am a translator and interpreter, having worked in both fields mostly as an in-house employee for two companies during the last 13 years.

I just started working as a freelancer in interpretation and am getting calls from agencies in California and other parts of the U.S. about providing them with my rates.
I'd like to set my rates, taking into account my formal education (in translation and interpretation) and 13 years of experience in interpreting; howeve
... See more
Hello,

I am a translator and interpreter, having worked in both fields mostly as an in-house employee for two companies during the last 13 years.

I just started working as a freelancer in interpretation and am getting calls from agencies in California and other parts of the U.S. about providing them with my rates.
I'd like to set my rates, taking into account my formal education (in translation and interpretation) and 13 years of experience in interpreting; however, also taking into account that I would like to remain competitive in the market.

Could someone please guide me as far as the rates are concerned?
My education and experience are in medical, legal, health and business interpretation.
I do not have any State certification, which to my understanding allows an interpreter to go up to a higher pay level (I think..).

- Is there a different rate depending on the subject of interpretation (medical, legal, general)
- Depending on the type of interpretation (consecutive, simultaneous, conference, etc).

My goal is to interpret for medical, legal and conference.