Mobile menu

Interpreters and the media
Thread poster: Nuria Navarro

Nuria Navarro  Identity Verified
Local time: 15:26
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 20, 2007

I am currently doing my PhD on conference interpreting. In one of the parts of the study, I analize the role of the interpreter in the Spanish and in the internacional media (TV, books, newspapers, films, etc.)

I already have some examples such as the films "The interpreter" with Nicole Kidman or Oliver Stone's "Looking for Fidel" and the books "Corazón tan blanco" by Javier Marías and "El Jinete Polaco" by Antonio Muñoz Molina, but I would like to have some more (it doen't matter the language)

Any suggestion??

Thanks a lot!

[Edited at 2007-08-20 11:28]

Direct link Reply with quote
English to Latvian
+ ...
Suggestion Aug 20, 2007

You may consider including a short story by the Austrian author Ingeborg Bachmann. The original title is 'Simultan', I'm not aware of the title in English. But then, it barely covers professional aspects.

[Edited at 2007-08-20 19:47]

Radica Schenck  Identity Verified
English to Macedonian
+ ...
three things come to my mind... Aug 20, 2007

...for now

1. "The status and image of interpreters" by Dorothea Beck ISBN: 978-3-8300-2702-7

2. Die Flüsterer / The Whisperers
Deutschland/Germany 2004, Digi Beta, 80:00
OF: Deutsch, Französisch, Englisch, UT: Englisch oder Deutsch

3.Morascher, Arnold. 2004. The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly. Rolle und Status des Dolmetschers und Übersetzers im US-amerikanischen und europäischen Spielfilm ab 1990. Diploma thesis, Karl-Franzens Universität Graz.
* Representation of interpreters in films.

Steven Capsuto  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:26
Spanish to English
+ ...
Films and TV with court interpreters Aug 21, 2007

I think the old movie "Judgment at Nuremberg" depicted interpreters in the early scenes.