Thread poster: sandymay
sandymay
sandymay
Local time: 13:38
English to Lithuanian
+ ...
Sep 1, 2007

Hello,

I am currently a DPSI student (legal option) and for the last couple of weeks i had a change to observe different court settings, but unfortunately i wasn't lucky enough to see someone who would need interpreters help.
And i wondered,during the court session when a defendant is giving evidence in the witness box, where does an interpreter stand? And when defence and prosecution lawyers, each present their cases (to the judge or even jurors during the trial), does inte
... See more
Hello,

I am currently a DPSI student (legal option) and for the last couple of weeks i had a change to observe different court settings, but unfortunately i wasn't lucky enough to see someone who would need interpreters help.
And i wondered,during the court session when a defendant is giving evidence in the witness box, where does an interpreter stand? And when defence and prosecution lawyers, each present their cases (to the judge or even jurors during the trial), does interpreter need to interpret what is beeing said ?
Or perhaps, someone would be kind enough to detail the parts in which interpreter needs to interpret during the court session. I would be the most grateful.It is still very new to me.

Thank you.

[Edited at 2007-09-01 08:51]
Collapse

Ewa Dabrowska
Ewa Dabrowska  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English to Polish
+ ...
court interpreting Sep 1, 2007

Sandymay
When you interpret for a witness/defendent in a witness box you need to stand close to them, so either in the box (if it's big enough for 2 people) or just outside it. Normally, this part is interpreted consecutively. If you interpret for the defendent (normally in the dock), you need to interpret everything, most of which is simultenous interpretation. Does that answer your questions? Most cases are open to the public and you can come and have a look. If you go to e.g. City of We
... See more
Sandymay