Mobile menu

Requirements for interpreters in France
Thread poster: Sophie Fronty
Sophie Fronty
Local time: 23:19
Spanish to French
+ ...
Dec 18, 2007

Is it possible to be an interpreter without a specific diploma in it ? (like it is used to be for translators)

Thank you for your anwer,

Sophie

Direct link Reply with quote

EmmanuelleAnne  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 23:19
English to French
+ ...
Yes and No Dec 20, 2007

Sophie Fronty wrote:

Is it possible to be an interpreter without a specific diploma in it ? (like it is used to be for translators)

Thank you for your anwer,

Sophie

Yes and No. I have a diploma in Conference Intepreting but most of my colleagues here (who are in their 50's, I just turned 30) don't. Still, they are excellent interpreters and I learnt (and keep learning!) a lot from them when I started working. To be honest, most of my colleagues here don't really believe in "diplomas". Now, other agencies may prefer someone with a diploma but I can tell you, it does not always do the trick! Experience is what really matters. However, without a diploma I don't think I would have had the confidence to start working as an interpreter. Moreover when my colleagues started in the business, there were very few available courses in Conference Interpreting. Therefore I think we are now more likely to encounter interpreters with official degrees. The degree gives you a background and confidence but it is pretty much like driving: after passing your driving licence, you almost can't drive, you just have the basis! It's through your driving experience that you will become a "driver". I'd say it's pretty much the same with interpreting! I hope I am being clear because I always find it a bit confusing answering that question! Have a lovely day and Happy Xmas!

[Edited at 2007-12-20 10:28]

Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:19
Flemish to English
+ ...
Basic training Dec 20, 2007