Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
I need help from Italian colleagues who do NOT speak Hungarian
Thread poster: Palko Agi
Palko Agi  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:06
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Apr 2, 2003

Dear colleagues, I am a teacher in a school, and we are having some Italian guests (High school students) next week. This is a EU-project, they need to develop some written material about the cultural contacts between the two countries.

I am preparing a quizz. I would need some ideas: what are the cultural basics Italian people (students) would know about Hungary? Apart from puszta, gulyás etc. I thought about Amerigo Tot, Kossuth, Franz Liszt, Petõfi... Who else do you know of? Sportsmen (May be Puskás?), musicians (can be modern, popular music), politicians, writers... etc. Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks a lot in advance

Direct link Reply with quote

Lorenzo Lilli  Identity Verified
German to Italian
+ ...
sportsmen and sportswomen Apr 2, 2003

I know some Hungarian sportsmen and sportswomen, for example swimmers such as Kristina Egersegy (sorry for my spelling, I\'m sure it\'s wrong ) and many others, especially women (Agnes KOvacs or so?). You also have excellent fencers, haven\'t you? I also know that a Hungarian writer won the NObel prize for literature but I\'ve forgotten his name, sorry (.

gellercup
English to Italian
+ ...
well...i know Apr 2, 2003

Zoltan Kodàly, Bela Lugosi, Sandor Marai..they are also quite famous

gellercup
English to Italian
+ ...
magician and inventor Apr 2, 2003

I remember also that Harry Houdini and Laszlo Birò were both Hungarian. In italian a ballpoint pen is called also \"biro\"

Laura Gentili  Identity Verified
Italy
Partial member (2002)
English to Italian
+ ...
Attila Apr 2, 2003

Certainly Attila the Hun.

[ This Message was edited by: Laura G. on 2003-04-02 10:00]

[ This Message was edited by: Laura G. on 2003-04-02 10:01]

schmurr  Identity Verified
Italian to German
+ ...
I'm sorry to say… Apr 2, 2003