Proz Kudoz: Totalitarian state?
Thread poster: Lori Dendy-Molz

Lori Dendy-Molz  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 02:48
German to English
+ ...
Dec 1, 2003

I think Proz and Kudoz are two of the best developments for translators to emerge from the Internet. Kudoz have rescued me on several hair-pulling occasions. That said, as a newbie, I'm a little dispirited by the discourse I find in the German-to-English Kudoz section, and the withering remarks doled out to people who sincerely try to help others.

I'm well aware there is a cadre of highly qualified and experienced translators who have amassed mountains of Kudoz, with good reason, and they have my admiration and respect. I also realize translators who submit queries to Kudoz are under pressure and looking for the best answer as quickly as possible, and that this is serious business. I consider obsessing over how many Kudoz points one has to be demented, and that’s not my motivation here.

There are occasionally submissions from people who obviously don't have a grasp of the English language, and they should firmly be directed to the door. Most of us, however, are actually trying to be helpful. The snide remarks made by other translators who think their submissions are better (sometimes they are, of course) are bothersome. But when the person asking for help insults people who have just attempted to assist him/her because the asker feels those who submitted answers were not diligent enough in their effort, that really chaps my a**, to be frank.