Or "Answer to Kudoz question declined"
Thread poster: David Brown
David Brown  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 07:01
Spanish to English
Apr 25, 2004

Like many translators who use this site I enjoy the challenge of being able to answer a translation question. As well as, I hope, helping the asker, I believe,it reinforces my translation skills. On occasions I offer an answer (suggestion) to a word or phrase and It is very satisfying to receive a message "Congratulations etc...." from Proz.com. On the other hand I sometimes offer suggestions a bit off the mark (e.g. see kudoz question 696725)and am always ready to accept this. But, (without others thinking...sour grapes..) what do I do when my answer is declined and another accepted which I think is not quite correct, as in kudoz question 691863.... "Metrotecnia". I was a scientist by profession and have a keen interest in most sciences. The asker accepted "metrology" as the best answer to this term, (and of course declined mine). But nowadays Universities have departments of Metrology and Metrology Technology(Metrotechnology)in the USA and other countries and the Spanish speaking ones are called "Dptos de Metrologia y Metrotecnia", and even Spain has a committe (Hasta entonces subsistira en su funcionamiento la Comisión Nacional de Metrología y metrotecnia con su actual composición y competencias. ...
noticias.juridicas.com/base_datos/Admin/l3-1985.html - 44k.)
This shows that metrotecnia is a branch of metrology and not metrology per se.
Proz.com kudoz questions and more correctly the answers to them help improve my knowledge and understanding of my new chosen career and I only want to return this favour.

Direct link Reply with quote

Dinny  Identity Verified
Greece
Local time: 08:01
Italian to Danish
+ ...
I guess explanations are consented... Apr 25, 2004