Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Agreeing with Kudoz answers
Thread poster: n/a (X)
n/a (X)
n/a (X)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 16, 2004

I am new to ProZ and as such am slightly anxious to find myself already raising what appears to me to be an issue in the Kudoz system, but nevertheless it is concerning me and I would appreciate any thoughts that other members may have. The issue is about the decision making process that people (presumably) go through when they decide to agree with an answer posted by another member. I have recently decided to post answers to some questions that happened to be in my own field of expertise, answe... See more
I am new to ProZ and as such am slightly anxious to find myself already raising what appears to me to be an issue in the Kudoz system, but nevertheless it is concerning me and I would appreciate any thoughts that other members may have. The issue is about the decision making process that people (presumably) go through when they decide to agree with an answer posted by another member. I have recently decided to post answers to some questions that happened to be in my own field of expertise, answers that I knew to be correct, or at least accurate for the terminology and language used in this field, and was then slightly surprised to see large numbers of 'agrees' for other answers that although sounded ok from a general language point of view were certainly not correct in the 'language' of science/medicine. I was slightly confused by this. It seems self-evident to me that translation requires a clear understanding not only of the broad language (eg English or Spanish) but also of the specific language (eg science or medicine) that the text is addressing. Consequently it is very easy to see something that sounds correct but, unless you know the specific target language well, can be way off mark. Interestingly, I saw no evidence of experience in these fields whatsoever in many of the profiles of the people who agreed.