https://www.proz.com/forum/language_industry_events_announcements/23460-prozcom_convention_2004%3A_other_communications.html

ProZ.com Convention 2004: OTHER COMMUNICATIONS
Thread poster: gianfranco
gianfranco
gianfranco  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 06:54
Member (2001)
English to Italian
+ ...
Jul 31, 2004

Please use this thread for any other communication or free chat related to the Conferenze in Oxford.

Note: there are 3 dedicated threads for Travel, Accomodation and Events information.
Anything else goes here... Thank you

Gianfranco
ProZ.com Team

The event page: http://www.proz.com/powwow/567

Dr Andrew Read
Dr Andrew Read  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:54
German to English
+ ...
Don't forget to read... Jul 31, 2004

...the "His Dark Materials" trilogy by Philip Pullman, especially the first part, "Northern Lights" before you all come to Oxford. It's a great book and partly set in a parallel universe Oxford! Superb atmosphere!

And I did my Masters Translation dissertation on the French and German translations of it.

Roberta Anderson
Roberta Anderson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 11:54
Member (2001)
English to Italian
+ ...
"His Dark Materials" trilogy (off topic) Aug 1, 2004

Andrew Read wrote:
...the "His Dark Materials" trilogy by Philip Pullman, especially the first part, "Northern Lights" before you all come to Oxford. It's a great book and partly set in a parallel universe Oxford! Superb atmosphere!

I'm reading them in Italian right now and can only agree: great books, was fully absorbed in the first 2 which I read in a few days, now half-way through the 3rd.

The Italian editions have unfortunately been translated by different translators, and that comes across if you read them in close sequence. Great read nonetheless!