Mobile menu

Off topic: No smoking / white button
Thread poster: Schpella
Local time: 13:27
Mar 12, 2009

I am a newbie here and I didn't have the time to read through the whole forum, so I apologize if this one is old.

The story goes like this: somewhere in Germany, the owners of a supermarket decided to put out a sign that would say "No smoking" in several languages and thought they should put it down in serbian-croatian language also.

Obviously they didn't consult a professional translator, but they knew that the serbian-croatian translation of "no smoking" (zabranjeno pušenje) is also a name of a famous Bosnian rock band. I guess they've just taken a wild guess and put the name of the wrong band on the sign...

So basically, the sign says "No smoking" in german, english, italian and turkish... and in serbian-croatian, it says "Bijelo dugme", which means "White button".

Direct link Reply with quote

xanthippe  Identity Verified
Member (2008)
Italian to French
+ ...
unbelievable.... Mar 12, 2009

unbelievable... I don't know if I would laugh or cry .....

People would better pay a professional translator....

English to Slovenian
+ ...
A heavy one Mar 12, 2009

and might be amusing to those who understand the language and know those bands. However, I doubt that whoever ordered that translation would agree with the amusement part.

Hard to believe it's true, although I'm sure we've all seen cases much worse than this.

Thank you for sharing

Kemal Mustajbegovic  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:27
English to Croatian
+ ...
That's actually... Mar 12, 2009

...translation into Bosnian.

In Croatian it would be "Prljavo kazalište" (Dirty Theatre") and in Serbian "Riblja čorba" (Fish Stew).

Don't you just love those penny pinchers.

Lingua 5B  Identity Verified
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Member (2009)
English to Croatian
+ ...
lol Mar 12, 2009

Is this a joke ?

Yes, "Bijelo dugme " is a popular Bosnian rock band from the 70ies.