Resources for making a dictionary - a South American indigenous language
Thread poster: zabrowa
zabrowa
Local time: 20:32
Nov 9, 2007

Hi. I am a researcher working with an endangered indigenous language spoken in South America. It is a very agglutinative language and so has a gamut of morphemes. In studying this language, and in preparing to go to the field, I was thinking of creating a dictionary, not only to facilitate dialect comparision and in situ communication, but also for general use by other researchers, linguists, and the speakers themselves.

I wonder if any of you know of any good freeware to get me going or any useful online manuals. I looked at, for example, Matupana, but I couldn't figure out how to run it, much less use it. It was appealing though because the printed version looked pretty professional, too.

Sure would appreciate some advice for a very novice lexicographer.

Thanks a lot!

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2007-11-09 15:55]

Direct link Reply with quote

Robert Tucker
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:32
German to English
+ ...
Matapuna Nov 10, 2007

I had Matapuna up and running on Linux a couple of years ago. As I remember the major difficulty I had was connecting to the PostgreSQL database, which is often a bit tricky anyway, and one or two things relating to running it on Apache. The person who wrote Matapuna was, however, very helpful, (he even explained how to import csv files) although I lost our exchange of emails when my system collapsed and I didn't have them backed up – perhaps if Dave Moskovitz still has them he could make them available. I know some of my other findings (OS things mainly, IIRC) were included in the install instructions.