Help with translation of a Christian Song into Spanish
Thread poster: Heather Chinchilla

Heather Chinchilla
United States
Local time: 16:35
Spanish to English
+ ...
Oct 8, 2006

Hello, I'm not sure if this is the right forum or not. I translate and interpret at church, which I am very comfortable doing.

I've been asked to translate songs, which I'm not as comfortable doing, but willing to try! I translated one song no problem, but I'm really stuck on a song called "Give Thanks".

It has pretty simple lyrics, but I think it requires a lot of creativity in order to make it rhyme, have the right amount of syllables, and not change the meaning too much.

I'm not a musician and don't really have a "musical ear" and I'm don't usually do literary translations, so I'm pretty stuck.

I was wondering if anyone sings this song (in Spanish) at their church and would be willing to share the lyrics? If not, could anyone give me any ideas on translating this song, please?

Here are the lyrics:

Give Thanks

Give thanks with a grateful heart
Give thanks unto the Holy One
Give thanks because He's given Jesus Christ, His Son

And now let the weak say, "I am strong"
Let the poor say, "I am rich
Because of what the Lord has done for us"

Direct link Reply with quote

Nina Engberg  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:35
English to Swedish
+ ...
Is this link helpful? Oct 8, 2006

http://www.allthelyrics.com/forum/christian-community/876-english-worship-song-in-spanish-translation-7.html

It's almost at the bottom of the page. It looks like this crowd might be helpful with future translations as well!

Thank you for reminding me of this song, BTW. It's such a nice one -- I've been sitting here singing the song to myself

Timothy Barton
Local time: 21:35
Member (2006)
French to English
+ ...
I've heard it before... Oct 9, 2006

I've heard it sung in Spanish, but not in my church. I can try and find the translation.

Timothy Barton
Local time: 21:35
Member (2006)