Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
A word for a very specific--and complex--human relationship
Thread poster: alohajerseyg (X)
alohajerseyg (X)
alohajerseyg (X)
English
Dec 16, 2007

I am a fiction writer, and I'm looking for a word that, as far as I know, does not exist in the English language. I'd love to know if anyone knows of a foreign word for a particular type of relationship. This is a student-teacher relationship in which the teacher is much older, perhaps even a parent figure to the student. The two become friends and lovers, perhaps even marrying. I'm not talking about pedophilia here or molestation. These are two people above the age of consent. Is there a word ... See more
I am a fiction writer, and I'm looking for a word that, as far as I know, does not exist in the English language. I'd love to know if anyone knows of a foreign word for a particular type of relationship. This is a student-teacher relationship in which the teacher is much older, perhaps even a parent figure to the student. The two become friends and lovers, perhaps even marrying. I'm not talking about pedophilia here or molestation. These are two people above the age of consent. Is there a word for this? I think it's so taboo in English-speaking cultures that we don't even have a word for it. But perhaps other languages are a bit less prudish? Any help offered is appreciated.Collapse

Magda Dziadosz
Magda Dziadosz  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 03:35
Member (2004)
English to Polish
+ ...
Isn't it called love? Dec 16, 2007

alohajerseygirl wrote: