Thread poster: Sergey
Sergey
Sergey
United States
Local time: 16:51
English to Russian
+ ...
Dec 21, 2001

I am kind of new to localization, though have done a lot of translation.

The issue that I am struggling right now is using my keyboard for accented characters.

I am using a US Internaional keyboard. And my OS is Windows (2000 or 98 - I don\'t think there is a big difference...).

The problem is how to type let\'s say French accented upper case characters?

Does it depend on the application I am using or this can be done through keyboard setup? Or this canno
... See more
I am kind of new to localization, though have done a lot of translation.

The issue that I am struggling right now is using my keyboard for accented characters.

I am using a US Internaional keyboard. And my OS is Windows (2000 or 98 - I don\'t think there is a big difference...).

The problem is how to type let\'s say French accented upper case characters?

Does it depend on the application I am using or this can be done through keyboard setup? Or this cannot be done in any way and I should order a French standard keyboard and buy a French version of Windows?
Collapse

Hans-Henning Judek
Hans-Henning Judek  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:51
German to English
+ ...
Several possibilities... Dec 21, 2001

First you have to install the respective language to your program. You can do that in your English program. I have for example German and Japanese installed.

Open the control panel, go to keyboard, languages and then add the languages you like (you need the CD at this time).

When working, you push just SHIFT and ALT at the same time and toggle between the languages. At this time a small blue square with the respective language acronym appears in the low
... See more
First you have to install the respective language to your program. You can do that in your English program. I have for example German and Japanese installed.