Eleni Makantani
Eleni Makantani
Greece
Local time: 11:59
English to Greek
+ ...
Mar 19, 2008

Hello all,

I have been working as a freelancer for five years, and throughout my career, I have always had this question: how are the "hourly rates" applied? I have so far only worked with rate per word, so this rate per hour seems strange to me. Does it apply to translation, or to proofreading/ editing? And how do you keep track of your time and prove to the client that your charge is objective and true?

Thanks!

Margreet Logmans (X)
Margreet Logmans (X)  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 10:59
English to Dutch
+ ...
My way of dealing with hourly rates Mar 19, 2008

hi Eleni,

I don't think there is a standard answer to your question, but this is how it works for me.

I apply an hourly rate for proofreading and editing, and also if the client asks me to do formatting, lay-out and DTP. For example, a PowerPointPresentation usually needs a little adjustment after translating.

I do keep track of my time using software tools on my PC, but so far no client has ever asked to see the records of my tracking. It's a matter of tr
... See more
hi Eleni,

I don't think there is a standard answer to your question, but this is how it works for me.

I apply an hourly rate for proofreading and editing, and also if the client asks me to do formatting, lay-out and DTP. For example, a PowerPointPresentation usually needs a little adjustment after translating.

I do keep track of my time using software tools on my PC, but so far no client has ever asked to see the records of my tracking. It's a matter of trust, obviously.
The software tool checks activity on my PC, but it has no way of knowing whether I'm drawing and deleting smileys in Word for two hours or doing some serious work.

I usually keep an eye on the clock as well, and always charge per part hour, not minutes or seconds. Half hours, quarters, whole hours. That's it.

Hope this helps!
Margreet
Collapse