https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/108965-the_eternal_problem_of_the_word_rate_or_line_rate.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
The eternal problem of the word rate (or line rate)
Thread poster: Astrid Elke Witte
Astrid Elke Witte
Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 13:01
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
Jun 29, 2008

I have been keeping a record of all my activities for a few months now, using time-recording software. As a result, I have come to the conclusion that (1) a "word rate" (or line rate) is disdvantageous; (2) it is absolutely wrong to grant any client the same word rate continually, for an extended period of time (a year or more).

To save quibbles with clients, I have agreed to include all extras, such as .pdf conversion or DTP, in what they perceive as the "going rate" (generally a p
... See more
I have been keeping a record of all my activities for a few months now, using time-recording software. As a result, I have come to the conclusion that (1) a "word rate" (or line rate) is disdvantageous; (2) it is absolutely wrong to grant any client the same word rate continually, for an extended period of time (a year or more).

To save quibbles with clients, I have agreed to include all extras, such as .pdf conversion or DTP, in what they perceive as the "going rate" (generally a pretty average rate). However, I find that this is not working, as sometimes it can involve far too much .pdf conversion, formatting, DTP and whatever else is not translation. Also, it does not take into account the complexity of the document.